How many federal civilian agencies are there?

The Senator apparently was citing the Federal Register’s agency list, which now depicts 440 agencies as December 2016.

How Many Federal Agencies Exist?
Unified Agenda 61 (at Department of Justice) 252
2016 Federal Register index 272 292
United States Government Manual 316

How many federal civilian bureaucrats are there?

According to the Office of Personnel Management (OPM), the federal workforce is composed of an estimated 2.1 million civilian workers.

What does federal civilian agencies mean?

Federal civilian agency (FCA). Any non-defense executive agency (e.g. DoS, Department of Homeland Security) or any establishment in the legislative or judicial branch of the USG (except the Senate, the House of Representatives, and the Architect of the Capitol and any activities under his or her direction).

What are the 7 government agencies?

Highlighted &amp, Familiar Agencies
  • Central Intelligence Agency. …
  • Environmental Protection Agency. …
  • Federal Communications Commission. …
  • Federal Trade Commission. …
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration. …
  • National Transportation Security Board. …
  • Securities and Exchange Commission.

How many bureaucratic agencies are there in the US?

With over 2,000 different agencies, the federal bureaucracy is almost certain to run into problems with organization, overlapping responsibilities, and efficiency.

How many federal employees are there 2019?

Number of governmental employees in the U.S. from 1982 to 2020 (in 1,000s)
Characteristic Federal (civilian) State and local
2019 2,831 19,688
2018 2,800 19,600
2017 2,805 19,544
2016 2,795 19,406

How many DoD employees are there?

The Department of Defense is the Federal Government’s largest agency and one of the most complex organizations in the world. With more than 1.3 million active duty service members, 750,000 civilian personnel, and more than 811,000 National Guard and Reserve service members, the DoD is the nation’s largest employer.

How many federal departments are there?

There are currently 15 executive departments. The heads of the executive departments receive the title of Secretary of their respective department, except for the Attorney General who is head of the Justice Department (and the Postmaster General who until 1971 was head of the Post Office Department).

How many agencies are in the executive branch?

Executive Departments

These are the main agencies of the federal government. The heads of these 15 agencies are also members of the president’s cabinet.

How many US departments are there?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the …

What are the 8 types of government?

Some of the different types of government include a direct democracy, a representative democracy, socialism, communism, a monarchy, an oligarchy, and an autocracy. Help your students understand the different forms of government with these classroom resources.

What is the smallest federal agency?

The CBO is a federal agency that provides budget and economic info to Congress.

What department is the CIA under?

Since 2004 the CIA is organized under the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI). Despite transferring some of its powers to the DNI, the CIA has grown in size as a response to the September 11 attacks.

Central Intelligence Agency.
Agency overview